Colorado hikes texting fines, limits enforcement

Colorado has graduated from being "one of the lowest-fining states" for texting & driving. Gov. John Hickenlooper signed into law the plan from state Sen. Lois Court, left, that makes a significant increase in texting & driving penalties. First-time offenders now face penalties of $300 and 4 points vs. the driver's license. There's a catch, however. In adopting the tougher penalties, Colorado lawmakers decided to require police to witness some form of careless driving as a result of the text messaging. That amendment, from Sen. Owen Hill, watered down Court's original plan to what is … [Read more...]

Hawaii bans distracted driving

Distracted driving has been illegal throughout Hawaii for several years, thanks to bans on each of the islands. Now the state has outlawed text messaging and the use of handheld cell phones while driving, in a move that's partly symbolic and mostly practical. Gov. Neil Abercrombie signed Act 74 on May 20, saying the new Hawaii law "establishes consistency across the state ... simplifying enforcement and likewise making our highways and roadways safer." Hawaii becomes the 40th state to ban text messaging while driving, and the 11th to outlaw handheld cell phone use while behind the wheel. … [Read more...]

Florida: Cell phone laws, legislation

Distracted driving news: State Rep. Emily Slosberg continues a family tradition as she has filed several distracted driving bills for the 2017 session. One would remove the state's secondary enforcement limit on texting & driving infractions. It also doubles fines for violations in school zones. The other calls for primary enforcement for drivers 18 and younger who are suspected of texting while behind the wheel. A similar plan was approved by the Senate Transportation Committee on March 22, below. The current Florida texting law is limited to secondary enforcement, meaning another … [Read more...]

Index: Cell phone laws, legislation by state

See what your state's cell phone and texting laws for drivers prohibit -- or are about to prohibit. The majority of U.S. states have restrictions on drivers' use of handheld electronics, with texting & driving barred in almost all states. You are responsible for knowing the distracted driving laws while motoring in any state or municipal area. See also: State distracted driving laws chart. View distracted driving laws and legislation by state: Alabama - Alaska - Arizona - Arkansas - California - Colorado Connecticut - Delaware - District of Columbia - Florida - Georgia - … [Read more...]

Rhode Island: Cell phone laws, legislation

Cell phone, texting updates: : Rhode Island's governor has signed into law a ban on handheld cell phone use. Gov. Gina Raimondo approved the legislation July 10 after it cleared the General Assembly at the end of June. The law takes effect June 1, 2018. Rhode Island currently prohibits texting while driving but not cell phone use. The law allows first-time violators a suspension of the $100 (maximum) fine if they show proof of acquiring a hands-free accessory. The bill's sponsor was state Sen. Susan Sosnowski. Approval of the hands-free law means Rhode Island is joining three of its New … [Read more...]