Arkansas: Cell phone laws, legislation

State flag of arkansas

Cell, text messaging update: A bid to stop handheld communications device use by all drivers in Arkansas fell short in a House Committee on Feb. 24. The legislation from state Rep. David Fielding went down to defeat in an 11-7 vote. Legislators voiced concerns about constituent anger over limiting cell phone use and "personal rights." The bill might be revived, supporters said after the vote. The plan would have allowed police to stop and cite violators (primary enforcement) and came with fines from $50 to $200. A coalition of Central Arkansas law officers says distracted driving is the key … [Read more...]

North Dakota: Cell phone laws, legislation

North Dakota flag for texting driving report

Latest cell/texting news: A North Dakota woman has been charged with homicide after she allegedly hit an SUV and killed one of its passengers while using social media. The 20-year-old was checking photos on Facebook at the time she slammed into the SUV on Interstate 29, police said after searching her cell phone. Abby Sletten, 20, was charged Sept. 3, 2014, with negligent homicide in the May 27 death of the passenger, an 89-year old woman from Minnesota. North Dakota's first distracted driving laws went into effect Aug. 1, 2011, with text messaging prohibited for all drivers. Primary … [Read more...]

New Mexico: Cell phone laws, legislation

New Mexico flag

Cell phone, text messaging legislation news: New Mexico's ban on text messaging while driving is now in full effect. Fines are $25 for a first offense, then $50. The distracted driving law, which became effective July 1, 2014, outlaws typing on handheld mobile devices and use of web sites. Cell phone calls remain legal. State police say they stopped and cited 55 motorists for violations as of mid-September. That includes a dozen warnings. Gov. Susana Martinez signed the Legislature's texting & driving act into law March 2. State Sen. Peter Wirth's plan sailed through the Legislature before … [Read more...]

Iowa: Cell phone laws, legislation

Flag of Iowa for texting law post

Distracted driving news: A plan to make texting & driving in Iowa subject to primary enforcement has been crafted and approved by the Senate Transportation Committee. The legislation replaces an earlier plan backed by the Department of Public Safety that would make handheld cell phone calls illegal for all drivers (Senate Study Bill 104). The plan OK'd by Transportation (Senate File 391) was approved via unanimous vote and goes before the full Senate. State Sen. Tod Bowman, chairman of the Iowa Senate Transportation Committee, said his panel removed the DPS proposal for a ban on handheld … [Read more...]

Hawaii: cell phone laws, legislation

Hawaiian flag for cell phone information post

Cell phone, text messaging news: Hawaii's year-old distracted driving law saw a set of changes go into effect July 1, 2014, with a base fine of $250 the headline item. The Legislature also made violations in school zone or construction areas subject to a $300 fine. Previously a first-time violation cost $100 while subsequent offenses within a year crept up to $300. The revised Hawaiian distracted driving law also makes clear that drivers temporarily stopped for red lights or stop signs cannot use handheld electronic devices, but exempts those who are fully stopped. Offenses are now … [Read more...]