Mississippi OKs texting & driving law

Mississippi flag for texting law article

Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant has signed legislation banning texting by all drivers. It goes into effect July 1. His state had beem among the few remaining in the U.S. without a strong texting & driving law. House Bill 389 -- given final approval by the Legislature on March 10 -- also would outlaw social media use by drivers, but does not address cell phone use by drivers. Fines would begin at $25 but go up to $100 in summer 2016. (Updated with governor signing.) The final Senate vote in favor of HB 389 was nearly unanimous, with three senators voting against the plan. The House … [Read more...]

75 percent of U.S. now on smartphones

google map on smartphone

Three out of four mobile phone users in the U.S. now has an Internet-connected smartphone, according to an industry study. That translates to about 182 million people in the U.S. with the advanced mobile phones -- with smartphone penetration at an all-time high of 75 percent, according to the comScore report. The quick market adoption of smartphones has been seen by safety experts as a factor in the widespread problem of electronic distracted driving, with the phones providing speedy access to email, instant messaging, Web browsing and social media access, as well as video and … [Read more...]

Judge: ‘Hands free’ means no hands. Period.

the Yukon flag

Wedging a cell phone between your shoulder and ear qualifies as hands-free driving -- at least in the eyes of the Yukon courts. The Canadian territory's distracted driving law is simply too mushy, a judge ruled. A Marsh Lake man fought his distracted driving ticket and won, saying that he was using the smartphone's speaker with both hands on the wheel. A Yukon Courts judge agreed with the low-fi approach to hands-free and dismissed the ticket Jan. 13. The judge said the government should clarify the territorial law and pointed to more specific legal wording used in British Columbia … [Read more...]

South Carolina writing texting tickets

south carolina state flag

South Carolina drivers who text while driving now can be stopped and cited for the distracted driving offense, as the new law's six-month warning period has elapsed. Tickets range from $25 (first offense) to $50 (subsequent). Distracted drivers will not see points vs. their licenses for infractions, meaning insurance rates will not increase for violators. Enforcement is primary, meaning police are empowered to stop and cite drivers who are texting for that reason alone. The South Carolina texting & driving law does not affect use of cell phones for making calls. Drivers will be able … [Read more...]

NYC distracted bicyclist law proposed

bicyclist racing in city

New York City bicyclists would be prohibiting from using smartphones and similar devices under an ordinance proposed by a Brooklyn councilman. City Council Member Mark Treyger says he was inspired to file the legislation after witnessing a distracted bicyclist nearly cause a multivehicle crash. Treyger cited an increased number of crashes involving bicyclists and pedestrians in recent years. "The city also has an obligation to promote safe cycling and to take steps to eliminate all forms of distracted driving and riding," Treyger, D-Brooklyn, said at a Nov. 14 press conference. "It … [Read more...]